The 39th Senior Officials Meeting on Energy (SOME) and Its Associated Meetings

14 Jun 2021

The Senior Officials Meeting on Energy (SOME) and Its Associated Meetings held its 39th iteration via a virtual platform from 14th to 17th June 2021 at the International Convention Centre (ICC), Berakas. 

Hosted by Brunei Darussalam as the 2021 ASEAN Chair, the meeting was presided by Yang Mulia Pengiran Haji Jamra Weira bin Pengiran Haji Petra, the Deputy Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Energy as the Senior Official on Energy Leader for Brunei Darussalam while His Excellency Victor Jona, the Senior Official on Energy Leader of Cambodia, acts as the vice chair.
The meeting was virtually attended by ASEAN Member States (AMS), Dialogue Partners and International Organisations. During the proceedings, the AMS Senior Officials on Energy (SOE) Leaders provided updates on activities of the ASEAN Plan of Action for Energy Cooperation (APAEC) as it embarks onto Phase II for the year 2021 – 2025. The Phase II aspires for higher targets and new initiatives to enhance energy transition and resilience towards a sustainable energy future, taking into consideration the COVID-19 impacts and its recovery plans, trends in global economy and energy, cross-cutting issues such as climate change and low-carbon emission, inclusion of private sectors through business forum activities as well as new and emerging technologies and digitalization in the energy sector.
The meeting also introduced the Five Brunei-Led Initiatives, one of which is the ‘Bandar Seri Begawan Declaration on Energy Security and Energy Transition’, as part of the Priority Economic Deliverables under Brunei Darussalam’s ASEAN Chairmanship. The declaration speaks of ASEAN commitment to strengthen relations and cooperation towards a more dynamic and resilient ASEAN economy, enhanced connectivity and narrowing the development gap between the ASEAN Member States. The declaration also seeks to enhance cooperation with ASEAN Dialogue Partners, International Organisations and external partners to address common sustainable economic development challenges for the collective benefit of the region and beyond. In recognizing the pressing demands of climate change on the energy sector, the declaration looks to address the matter in accordance to ASEAN’s common but with differentiated responsibilities and respective capabilities.
Other Brunei-Led Initiatives also include 1) the Concept Paper on ASEAN Ministers on Energy Meeting (AMEM) – Wide Education and Training Exchanges on the Role of Natural Gas in Advancing a Low Carbon Energy Transition; 2) the Concept Paper on Energy Establishments and Climate Change Organisation Cooperation on Energy Issues; and 3) the Concept Paper on Establishing ASEAN Energy Interaction Programmes, in addition to 4) Workshops on Hydrogen Economy and Carbon Capture Utilisation and Storage.
The associated meetings that took place alongside the 39th SOME include the 20th Senior Official Meeting on Energy Plus Three (SOME + 3), the Senior Officials Meeting on Energy Dialogue with International Renewable Energy Agency (SOME – IRENA Dialogue), the Senior Officials Meeting on Energy Dialogue with International Energy Agency (SOME – IEA Dialogue), the 12th SOME – US, Special AGC Meeting, the 22nd SOME – METI, the 26th East Asia Summit Energy Cooperation Task Force (EAS ECTF) as well as the 12th SOME – Russia.
The outcome of 39th SOME and Its Associated Meetings will be reported for consideration to the upcoming 39th ASEAN Ministers on Energy Meeting (AMEM) and Its Associated Meetings, scheduled to be held in September 2021.


Contact Us

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Jalan Subok
Bandar Seri Begawan BD 2710
Brunei Darussalam

Phone: +673 2261177
Email: /


The Association of Southeast Asian Nations or ASEAN was founded on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok by the five original Member Countries; Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined ASEAN on 7 January 1984