15 June 2021

The 15th ASEAN Defence Ministers’ Meeting (ADMM) convened virtually at the International Convention Centre in Berakas concluded on a high note today. The meeting was chaired by Yang Berhormat Pehin Datu Lailaraja Major General (Rtd) Dato Paduka Seri Haji Awang Halbi bin Haji Mohd Yussof, Minister of Defence II, in his capacity as Brunei Darussalam ADMM Leader. 

Attendees also include Brigadier General (Rtd) Dato Seri Pahlawan Shahril Anwar bin Haji Ma’awiah, Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Defence, and Haji Adi Ihram bin Dato Paduka Haji Mahmud, Deputy Permanent Secretary (Policy and Strategy), in their respective capacity as Brunei Darussalam ASEAN Defence Senior Officials’ Meeting (ADSOM) Leader and Brunei Darussalam ADSOM Working Group Leader.
During the meeting, the ASEAN Defence Ministers agreed on the adoption of eight (8) new and revised Concept and Discussion Papers and one (01) Standard Operating Procedure (SOP). Amongst adopted were papers championed by Brunei Darussalam, namely Stocktaking Paper on the ADMM and ADMM-Plus with an intended outcome to deliver a strategy for the future of the ADMM; Concept Paper on Enhancing Usage of the ASEAN Direct Communications Infrastructure (ADI) as Defence Communications Architecture that lays out a proposed conceptual framework for ADI Phase 2 usage; and revisions to the Concept Paper on ASEAN Defence Interaction Program (ADIP) to ensure its sustainability in the coming years.
The meeting also saw the adoption of the ‘Bandar Seri Begawan Declaration in Commemoration of the 15th Anniversary of the ADMM Towards a Future-Ready, Peaceful And Prosperous ASEAN’.
At the sidelines, the ASEAN-China Defence Ministers’ Informal Meeting convened following the conclusion of the 15th ADMM. ADMM will continue its momentum of practical defence cooperation with eight (08) Plus countries at the 8th ASEAN Defence Ministers’ Meeting Plus (ADMM-Plus) tomorrow.


Contact Us

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Jalan Subok
Bandar Seri Begawan BD 2710
Brunei Darussalam

Phone: +673 2261177
Email: /


The Association of Southeast Asian Nations or ASEAN was founded on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok by the five original Member Countries; Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined ASEAN on 7 January 1984