ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community (ASCC)

ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Pillar

i. ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Pillar in brief, including ASCC Sectoral Bodies

The ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community (ASCC) is the third pillar of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.

Overseen by a ministerial body known as the ASCC Council that meets twice a year, it is the widest ranging of the three Pillars, undertaking efforts to lift the quality of life of ASEAN peoples through cooperative programmes and activities that are people-oriented, people-centred, environmentally friendly, and geared towards the promotion of sustainable development to face new and emerging challenges in ASEAN. The ASCC is committed to collectively deliver and fully realise human development, resiliency and sustainable development through cooperation on a wide range of areas, including culture and information, health, education, environment and climate change, labour, rural development and poverty eradication, social welfare, sports, women, children, youth and vulnerable groups.

Like other Pillars, ASCC and its fifteen (15) Sectoral Bodies, have under their purview the relevant senior officials and subsidiary bodies.

Contact Us

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Jalan Subok
Bandar Seri Begawan BD 2710
Brunei Darussalam

Phone: +673 2261177
Email: /


The Association of Southeast Asian Nations or ASEAN was founded on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok by the five original Member Countries; Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined ASEAN on 7 January 1984